Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-28-2015, 04:39 PM   #1

Factory 5th wheel prep package

Good day. Sorry if there is another post on this. I did not find one.

Some of these new trucks offer from the factory, a 5th wheel prep package. I'm new to the 5th wheel set up and not sure if this is a bonus, or just a waist of money.

Anyone in the know have an opinion if the factory installed 5th wheel prep package is a favorable option? Any props/cons to having this factory option? Is there any savings down the road having this option? With this option, I guess you just drop a hitch in and go? No aftermarket installation of hardware?

I've also seen some folks put a goose neck adapter on their king pin and tow using the goose neck set up. Any opinions as to why folks use this method? Any pros/cons compared to towing with a conventional 5th wheel hitch. Specifically with a short truck box configuration. Is this advisable with a short bed?

Thank you for any feedback.
2015 Jayflight 28 BHBE (sold)
2009 Jayflight 26 BH (sold)
hboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:29 PM   #2