Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-12-2016, 07:18 PM   #1

What do you wish that you knew when you first bought your popup?

Hi, everyone. Just signed the papers for a new 2017 10SD after a long search to find a nice used model failed miserably. I've been camping my whole life, but it was always in a tent and for the past 10 years or so most of the trips were just me and the wife on a motorcycle. With a three year old running around, those days are done for a while and I'm pretty new to the pull behind camper scene.

Anything that you wish you had purchased early on, or tricks that you've picked up along the way to help a new popup camper owner?

TriumphGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 07:24 PM   #2

That camping was so addictive, 44 yrs and many units later we're still at it.

Old 06-12-2016, 08:35 PM   #3

Don't run out and buy every camping gadget that looks cool. What works great for someone else may not fit with your style.
Old 06-13-2016, 07:52 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye Hunter View Post
Don't run out and buy every camping gadget that looks cool. What works great for someone else may not fit with your style.
X2. First outing go to a close by CG close to a W Mart or such. Take the basics like cooler, bedding, a few dishes and pots/pans, etc. A lot of the stuff at Camping World that might look neat or necessary will end up catching dust in a box somewhere. Your experience tenting s/b all you need to know about camping in a PU other than the extras that a PU provides. What you use in a tent goes a long way in what you will need in your PU. Give it a go and keep a note pad handy to jot down the things you need.

Enjoy the new PU. We had 2 before we stepped up to a full blown TT. Great fun with the kids, every state park in Indiana, Yellowstone, D World, Rocky Mtn NP, Smoky Mtn NP to name a few.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 08:27 AM   #5