Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2015, 05:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,190
Question 50amp Y adapter questions

Last week I was at a state park with 30amp service. I had one A/C running and the breaker would trip if the Microwave was used for any length of time. Another camper saw me resetting the breaker and told me about an adapter, Y harness. He said you plug it into the standard 30amp and the second leg has a 20amp plug that gets plugged into the 15/20amp in most pedestals. By using this setup you get either 45 or 50amp depending on the smaller outlets amps. It sounds OK 30 plus 20 equals 50.

I tried a net search and found Amazon has one with one review that said it did not work due to the ground on the 15/20amp plug. The review said it tripped the breaker. If the 15/20amp grounds the problem, could it be eliminated so the ground wouldn't effect the adapter? I'm hoping someone here has used one or someone with electrical knowledge can explain why it would or wouldn't work.

Has anyone seen or used a setup like this?
Would this work to up the available amps to the TT?

This might be a must have if it works .................
__________________

Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
It may work IF the 20 amp outlet is not on the same leg as the 30 amp outlet.
__________________

__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
This hook up will still only give you 1/2 of the power your 50 amp connection will . To explain, a 30 amp hook up, provides 30 amps of power at 120 volts. You 50 amp connection will give you two 50 amp at 120 volts legs, or, 100 amps at 120 volts. When you connect your Y connection, the 30 amp side will provide power to most of your 120 volt appliances, outlets etc in your RV.




Now to get to your question. If the 30 amp plug and the 20 amp plug are on two separate legs then yes you will get 50 amps at 120 volts, or 1/2 of your normal plug amperage. If these two plugs are hooked on a common ground, and on the same leg then it will not work. That's the readers digest version. The newer the campground, the more likely it will be wired correctly and you will have no issues...other than you still only have half your regular power available.






Good luck !
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,190
wags999:

If I understand right, I do gain amps but not get the 100amps from a regular 50amp connection. The adapter would add the 20amps from the 15/20 pigtail to the 30amps from the pedestal, a 20amp gain that SHOULD allow more "things" to be run than I could with the 30amp only connection.

tnchuck100: If they are on the same leg? no harm I just don't get the amp boost? I assume there is some kinds of state code on how the wiring has to be done. any idea how the pedestals are wired?
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:23 PM   #5
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,052
I have one and use it when I can. Many SP's on Ga have that setup , 2 30a feeds and with the adapter it is better than 1- 30a. Don't know why they do it that way.
It will not work if the breaker is a GFCI.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Yes. Lets use your home as an illustration. You have, say 100 amp service. What that is, is, two 100 amp, 120 volt lines and a neutral coming into your house. You can have the one neutral because the two 120 volt lines are phased, meaning, because this is alternating current the power flows in one line and out the neutral, when you phase them each of the live lines are alternating the current (60 cycles per second). The power coming in and going out are balanced and the neutral is balanced. When both outlets are wired on the same phase, then you will get power flowing back into the neutral, popping the breaker. So if the pedestal is wired with the outlets each on a separate leg, then the neutral wire will carry no voltage and hence no popping of the breaker. It all depends on how the pedestal is wired. Older campgrounds, were not typically wired for 50 amp RV's as the RV's were smaller and used much less power. So it was not an issue to wire the outlets to the same leg or phase of power.. I could get more complicated and say the typically every other site will be on the same "main line" coming from the main electrical panel of the campground. Now that I have confused everyone


Bottom line, if newer yes you will have 50 amp of power, at 120 volts...which is 1/2 what your typical 50 Amp plug. You still will have to watch what you use, you may or may not be able to use two AC at the same time, depending on size of the unit. Your MW may still "blow" the breaker... You probably wont be able to use a hair dryer, or coffee maker or toaster while your AC and other background items are running... Hope this helps some.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
I have one and use it when I can. Many SP's on Ga have that setup , 2 30a feeds and with the adapter it is better than 1- 30a. Don't know why they do it that way.
It will not work if the breaker is a GFCI.
Because you can run three #10 wires and get two 30 amp services. With 50 Amp you need (depending on length of run) two #6 and either a # or maybe an #8 neutral...cost is much greater to run one 50 amp service than two 30 amp plugs. It also provides less power to the RV.

GFCI will detect any minute voltage "leak" and shut off.. they are a pain at campgrounds, in part because RV's are not wired the same as a home....

Why it won't work with a GFCI is most likely because the plugs are not "in phase". Sometimes even using the same 120 line to supply power to both plugs...with a 50 or 60 amp breaker in the main electrical panel.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,190
Sounds like it maybe worth buying one. I know I can't run both A/C's with the 30 and one 30 almost runs the A/C & microwave as long as the nuke times under a couple minutes. The adapter might be just enough.
Norty1 uses a double 30 amp and I have seen that setup in the marina's on large boats. I have not seen a CG setup with two 30's here on the west coast. If I start seeing them regular it'll be one more adapter for the collection ..............

Thanks waggs999
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 08:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Will not work if the 20 amp is a GFI. Every 30/20 to 50 adapter lists the same disclaimer.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 09:04 PM   #10
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,052
I will add that the 2 feeds must be of different phase and most camper pedestals are not that way except in Ga state parks. That is the only place I have been able to use mine and I have tried it in many locations with a 30 and a 20. None worked.

BTW, mine is home made.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.