Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2015, 11:40 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
This will not help in this situation that adelldu4 is encountering. It is in the TT's main breaker box, not the power coming from the shore power pedestal. If it were AC source problem, the pedestal AC breaker would open first. These types of units mount before the TT's fuse panel.

Nice unit though

Just my thoughts,

Don
__________________

__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 12:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
krsmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 329
Does not exactly cover the topic...but, another thing that helps prevents popped ckt breakers. Most pedestals have a plug for 120v service. I always run an extension cord from the pedestal a power strip for external 120v use, such as ice maker, fans, broiler ovens, griddles, etc. etc. etc.
__________________

__________________
Ken Smith
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLIS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 CTD
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 12:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
Just as a reference, I use the 30 to 50 amp adapter all the time. Although my reason is because most of the 30amp outlets in the pedestals are abused, worn out or loose, since the 50 amp breakers get less use they are in much better shape.

Just my thoughts,

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 12:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
krsmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
Just as a reference, I use the 30 to 50 amp adapter all the time. Although my reason is because most of the 30amp outlets in the pedestals are abused, worn out or loose, since the 50 amp breakers get less use they are in much better shape.

Just my thoughts,

Don
Have not thought of that...but, makes sense!
__________________
Ken Smith
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLIS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 CTD
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:09 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Cosmik Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 554
but still

Back to the original issue. I've managed to trip the power at the post if I try to draw too much, but never in the rv. To avoid having to walk over and reset the breaker we try to remember to shut off aircon while using large draw appliances like the microwave.
Maybe the outlet you're connecting to is just a hair slower than the breaker inside.
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:23 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
Just as a reference, I use the 30 to 50 amp adapter all the time. Although my reason is because most of the 30amp outlets in the pedestals are abused, worn out or loose, since the 50 amp breakers get less use they are in much better shape.

Just my thoughts,

Don
you are possibly putting your shore power cord at risk. If a short was to happen between the pedestal and your break box inside, your cord, which is sized for 30 amps, could pull up to 50 amps, before tripping the pedestal breaker. This could result in a complete failure of the power cord. Plugging into a 50 amp breaker does nothing to get you more or more reliable power to your rig. If you have an issue with the 30 amp tripping on the pedestal and not in your rig, then I would alert the campground so that breaker can be changed, they can weaken over time. Breakers are there to prevent issues in your rig, they are designed as the weak link in the system, to prevent problems.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:51 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,110
OP, we have that same issue. There really is nothing you can do to remedy the issue. Both the ac and microwave pull a lot of power when cycling on. Now we use turn the ac off or flip it to fan for the few minutes we use the microwave. In general you will not see a temperature change inside the unit.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:57 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 3,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by wags999 View Post
you are possibly putting your shore power cord at risk. If a short was to happen between the pedestal and your break box inside, your cord, which is sized for 30 amps, could pull up to 50 amps, before tripping the pedestal breaker.
Good point!

Thanks

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 04:15 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
You can probably use the AC and microwave at the same time if you run both the refrigerator and water heater on electric.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 04:51 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVhiker View Post
You can probably use the AC and microwave at the same time if you run both the refrigerator and water heater on electric.
Don't you mean "run both the refrigerator and water heater on propane"?
__________________

__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.