Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-22-2019, 06:12 AM   #1

Dead Coach Battery

Help!!!
New to the forum and new to RVing and I have a major issue on first big trip.
2019 Precept 36A
getting gas, jump back into seat to start it up and Battery is COMPLETELY dead, not a hint of life after driving for 6 hours straight, have to use battery boost, and even then I have to keep Rev段ng the engine awhile to keep it from not dying. Check engine light is not on too....also the auto leveler is acting screwy. The coach drives fine and the battery issue only happens 50% of the time I try and start. It痴 a Sunday and I知 trying to get to the in-laws, any help would be awesome! FYI I知 a complete novice on all things electrical.
TheMaloneyFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2019, 06:39 AM   #2

First I would look at the battery terminals and make sure they are clean and tight. They can be cleaned with sandpaper. If really nasty a solution of water and baking soda. You said you were and electrical novice. I would get someone with a digital volt meter, or buy one. Get engine started by any means possible. Meter set to d.c. 20 volts. Put leads across battery terminals. It should read about 13.6 volts or higher. If 13 or less your charging system has a problem. If good your battery has a problem.

Maybe stop at auto parts store they should be able to do this for you.

hawkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2019, 06:45 AM   #3

Ok, I’m in a Walmart parking lot now, I’ll see if they have one I can buy inside. Got coach started this morning (thank goodness), but once again battery was dead and I had to use the boost to crank him up.
Old 12-22-2019, 07:25 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaloneyFam View Post