Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-09-2019, 04:58 PM   #1

Precept 29v ???

Ok, I have been seriously looking at the 29v. After reading reviews on this site, I am thinking it may have more driving issues than a new rig should have. I have some experience driving RV’s (also dump trucks and heavy equipment), but I don’t want a squirrelly ride from a brand new rig that I have to spend thousands to correct. I chose the 29v because it’s just me and the dog, with occasional family trips. Can anyone provide feedback as to what I should expect as a driving experience?

Also, is the Alante just an entry level version compared to the Precept?

Thanks

Michael
mwsalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 07:31 PM   #2

Alante is entry level and I believe the precept is also. Just maybe more lipstick. If you never drive over 55 it will drive and handle fine. Also many people say their rigs drive fine. Many do not. Take a long test drive.

hawkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 08:29 PM   #3

Having to drive 55 would suck, especially on freeways. And I suppose the CHF, trac bar and Safe-T-Plus would void the warranty.

Thank you for your response.

Michael
Old 04-10-2019, 06:13 AM   #4

It sounded weird but I have talked to guys that don't drive over 55. 'My ride and handling is fine'! They say. I'm with you. If additions might void the warranty I would ask Ford since it's their chassis but it seems a good many owners do them. My belief is the longer wheelbase and larger tires do help, although many of those owners modify also. If it gives you heartburn to spend extra dollars on handling, take a long freeway drive. All the motorhomes have 100's of miles anyway since they are driven to the dealer. Drive fast too. And when you get a toad the handling generally doesn't get better.

Good luck.

Old 04-10-2019, 12:16 PM   #5