Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2011, 07:45 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
yddad45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Meridian,ms
Posts: 255
After only a days use I can tell already my Ac is cycling more often. It seems to keep alot more constant temp also. I know this is going to be one of the best mods I've done so far. I bought my thermostats at Lowe's at $24.00 a piece and bought two small switches at my local electronic store $2.33 a piece for the Hi-Lo switch, for a grand total of $53.00. Not bad for two electronic thermostats. I bought the Hunter model#42122 because they were $10 cheaper then the Honeywell and they seem to work well.
Another thing I liked about the Hunter is the controls are located on the outside of the thermostat and are easy to see. I did try the Honeywell but had to swap to the Hunter because the Honeywell didn't cover the hole in my wall that was left by the Jayco install tech. But after the install I kind of like the Hunter thermostat Look and like I said the controls are easy to see.
Another thing I discovered during installation of the bedroom install the bedroom thermostat only controls the A/c and not heat. Therefor I did not have a heat control wire to hook up. The heat control being the white wire in your Rv.
The picture you see are of my main thermostat located in the hall, this thermostat shows the heat control hooked up.
If you can tell I installed my Hi/Lo switch in the top of my thermostat. It was the best place to install it.
Attached Thumbnails
DSC00530.JPG   DSC00532.JPG   DSC00533.JPG   DSC00534.JPG   DSC00535.JPG  

__________________

__________________
2010 F250 6.4 L
2011 Jayco 330 RTLS
yddad45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 09:40 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
yddad45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Meridian,ms
Posts: 255
I know everyone including me likes pictures of mods so I edited my post and added some.:hihi::hihi::hihi:
__________________

__________________
2010 F250 6.4 L
2011 Jayco 330 RTLS
yddad45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 11:11 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near St Louis
Posts: 473
Lady Fitzgerald,

The model mine needed was 8330-336 which is for the new style Coleman Mach III units. This unit is both heat and cool, which I only need cool on my 2nd AC, but it was the same price for the heat/cool and they had 2 of these in stock. If you call their toll free number they can tell you exactly what you need.
I will take pics and post a follow on how the install goes early next week. From the looks of it, all I should have to do is unwire the old one and wire this new one back in place. The new thermostat came with wires already attached.

Jr
Jrmay25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:31 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near St Louis
Posts: 473
Installed both Coleman thermostats this weekend but forgot to take any pictures. Installation could not have been any easier though as the new unit reattached wire for wire the same as the old one. Both AC's cycled a whole lot more often as I knew they would, but the nice thing was they maintained my set temp within 1 degree.
Jrmay25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:51 AM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrmay25 View Post
snip.......Both AC's cycled a whole lot more often as I knew they would, but the nice thing was they maintained my set temp within 1 degree.
Mine cycles a little more often as well, but the end result is a more efficient cooling system. I'm sure the actual overall A/C run time is less compared to the old thermo control setup.

Bob
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 08:13 PM   #26
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrmay25 View Post
Lady Fitzgerald,

The model mine needed was 8330-336 which is for the new style Coleman Mach III units. This unit is both heat and cool, which I only need cool on my 2nd AC, but it was the same price for the heat/cool and they had 2 of these in stock. If you call their toll free number they can tell you exactly what you need.
I will take pics and post a follow on how the install goes early next week. From the looks of it, all I should have to do is unwire the old one and wire this new one back in place. The new thermostat came with wires already attached.

Jr
Just wondering who you purchased from? What info did you need to get the correct thermostat?
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 09:40 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near St Louis
Posts: 473
I ordered them through rvplus.com. The guy I talked to before ordering told me the part number I needed by the make and model of my camper. Since the AC only unit was the same price as the AC & Heat I went ahead and ordered 2- AC & Heat and just left the white wire capped on my bedroom AC.
Jrmay25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:05 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 216
Thanks for the directions Tim. I picked one of these up yesterday and installed it. Your directions were right on the money and made it a piece of cake. I just had one little "scare." When I turned everything on, the fan would run, but the compressor wouldn't. Me being contrary hadn't read directions yet. So I started checking all of my wires to make sure they were correct and making good connections. It then kicked on. Then I read the manual. It had the compressor locked out for 5 minutes after installing the battery. Glad that is all it was.
jwstewar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:57 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 145
Coleman makes an exact Digital thermostat for the RV'S Part# 8330-3362 or CS-69845 approx cost is $70.00. Exact wire match for Jayco units with furnace and a/c from the same stat, with 2 speed fan
buckeyejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:55 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 216
One thing odd. When I went out to the camper last night it was 92 degrees in it. I had the thermostat set on 78. The breaker for the AC had tripped. We've never had this trip before. I'm just a bit worried at this point as we are starting to load it up to leave Thursday for 10 days. I gotta have my AC at the County Fair because it is always HOT there.
__________________

jwstewar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.