Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-05-2018, 08:55 PM   #1

174bh winterizing question

Hello,

First post! The trailer is a 174h baja 2018. The dealer couldn't answer my question so im sure you guys will be more help. This is my first time winterizing my trailer. The fresh water tank is located at the front, and the pump is located at the back of the trailer. How do i winterize the feed line between the fresh water tank and the pump? Is it just drained by gravity when i open the valve for the fresh water tank? or do i need to add anti freeze in my fresh water tank and turn on the pump?

The trailer is equipped with a bypass and a short tube for the container of antifreeze, but i dont think this would send antifreeze back to the tank.

Another question regarding the sealant around the trailer. From the factory, they screw everything in that white sealant. Some places there is too much, some place not enough. Can i trim the excess off an add a proper bead of sealant? Can i use mineral spirits to clean before sealing? Im using proflex.

And last, the trailer is new, do I need to be concern about the roof at all? Are lap sealant deteriorating that fast?

Thanks!
2015 Frontier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 06:46 AM   #2
Site Team

The water line should drain when you drain the tank. You could also run the pump for a few seconds once that tank is drained to insure that it is empty. You will not hurt anything by putting antifreeze in your fresh tank and pumping it through. Most owners don't do that however, but it will not do any harm other than creating another place to flush the antifreeze out of in the spring. Also do some research on using compressed air in your winterizing process in addition to or on place of the antifreeze. There are lots of threads on the subject for tons of informative reading.