Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-02-2020, 02:12 PM   #1

WDH discussion SLX 175 RD

Good as new 2019 SLX 175 RD towed by 2015 Tacoma DCSB with Tow.

Again, I am a novice, so I would like some of the current thoughts on this. I have read and researched but would like to hear from some impartial experts.

I couldn’t find any of them so I am asking you guys.

With my TV, I am already on the margins of my comfort level, so I want to get the WDH right. The PO also towed with a Tacoma and used a Husky, which they are keeping. A dealer wanted to sell me a Fastway E2 for this set up. I assume 6000/600 is the right specifications. I independently researched and found that yes, this probably was a good set up for my application, and was going to order one.

But in my research, I also read about the Equalizer 4 point system, and almost universal praise. However, I note many equalizer users are frankly towing four times the weight. It may be overkill that I simply don’t need to pay for.

As I said above, I want to get it right, but also don’t want to over buy. Is an Equal-i-zer warranted? Is 600/6000 the right spec I should be looking at?

Total Cargo will be as light as possible, but WILL include 2 passengers, Fuel, one Full cooler, a TBD but 50 lbs-ish Inv/Gen, and sparse personal effects.
Published Trailer Specs, such as they are Dry 2,860 lbs. Payload 890 lbs. GVWR 3,750 lbs. Tongue 335 lbs.
Published TV specs: 6500 Tow 1140 VCW.

https://www.fastwaytrailer.com/e2-hitch
https://www.equalizerhitch.com/store...ontrol-hitch-1

Thoughts?
Vista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 02:26 PM   #2
Site Team