Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-31-2020, 04:04 PM   #1

Can I use a wireless EBC with an SLX 175 rdw ...

As a novice, I apologize in advance for this question and the similar ones that will come in the next few weeks (... days ... minutes).

I will be trying to slowly tow a 2019 SLX 175 RDW Baja behind a 2015 Tacoma/Tow Pkg.

This question is, for my electric brake controller, can I use one of the more recent universal wireless EBC, such as the CURT 51180 or the Prodigy 90250 Prodigy?

To be clear, I am not really asking which is best, or whether they are better than a wired EBC, I just really want to make sure this is a proper use and application for them while I research which I might use.

For context ... I asked a salesman who otherwise seemed knowledgeable about trailering, about wireless EBCs ... and got a puzzled look, like nobody would use a wireless EBC.

Thanks for all the help.
Vista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 04:52 PM   #2

It doesn't make any difference which trailer you have the tow vehicle could be the problem.
Old 05-31-2020, 04:57 PM   #3

Not even knowing there was such an animal as a wireless EBC, I proceeded with a Google search. Leave it to Youtube to have an answer.

It appears to work fairly well and I would trust a Prodigy product.

(The trailer module looks like a small suitcase!)

Your opinions may vary,

Murff

2015 White Hawk 20MRB (It's last year)
2017 F150 2.7 Eco Boost 3.73 Gears

Murff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 05:03 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
It doesn't make any difference which trailer you have the tow vehicle could be the problem.
Can you be more clear?