Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2015, 12:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 42
COAX cable to Antenna type/size

I replaced my OEM Sensar with the King Jack this weekend
What a difference! I get twice as many channels, I would recommend this to anyone with the old Sensar.

My issue is with the cable. It had corroded so much that when I detached it from the old antenna the center wire broke off in the connector.
I need to either replace the connector or the cable itself.

Does anyone know what size the cable is? Itís not RG59 or RG6 for sure.

I was able to temporarily get it connected with a RG59 connected, but I need to get it corrected with a waterproof connector.
__________________

__________________
____________________
2016 Eagle 324BHTS
2012 JaycoJayflight 28BHS - totaled :(

2017 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax
lhpelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 12:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
My 2011 Jayco fifth wheel uses a type of RG-6. And i think that either RG-59 or RG-6 is about all that would be used for a TV antenna cable.

Why do you think your's is not RG-59 or RG-6? Could a previous owner have used something else? Or does the corrosion on the cable make it look like something else?

Anyway, does your new antenna's install manual specify RG-6?
__________________

__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 42
I think it is not RG59 or RG6 because of the size.
It is smaller in diameter and grey in color.
Also my standard connector is too big.
__________________
____________________
2016 Eagle 324BHTS
2012 JaycoJayflight 28BHS - totaled :(

2017 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax
lhpelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 177
My White Hawk has RG59. I know because I am reconnecting broken coax right now.
__________________
Dan & Christine (and Molly)
2015 GMC Sierra 4WD Crew Cab Short Bed with Max Trailer Pkg
2015 Jayco White Hawk 27 DSRL
redenbacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 09:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 159
Look to see if there is any writing on the cable. Part of that labelling should be the cable type. Somewhere on the cable but it might be inside so it may take some looking.
campingva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 02:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bluesky46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Moses Lake
Posts: 228
Cable vs Antenna TV

Inside the DVD cabinet, under the TV (Greyhawk 31SS) I have this white plate, a cable comes out of the plate and attaches to the TV. There is a button on the plate, that when pressed will turn on/off a green light. See image. I am assuming this has something to do with getting TV signal from the antenna or from outside cable? Any comments about how this works?[ATTACH]17930[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
TV Cable.jpg  
Bluesky46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:32 AM   #7
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluesky46 View Post
Inside the DVD cabinet, under the TV (Greyhawk 31SS) I have this white plate, a cable comes out of the plate and attaches to the TV. There is a button on the plate, that when pressed will turn on/off a green light. See image. I am assuming this has something to do with getting TV signal from the antenna or from outside cable? Any comments about how this works?[ATTACH]17930[/ATTACH]
That green light indicates when the over the air antenna signal amplifier is on.

If you are using cable, just turn off the amp and it should work off park cable.

If you use a satellite signal, there should be a coax jumper that can be removed to bypass the amp. I don't see it in your picture.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.