Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2021, 07:17 AM   #1
Member
 
GaryNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: La Grange
Posts: 42
Odd amp situation

Doing a one night at a friends. Plugged in to their 30 amp and got a Reverse Polarity error = problem for friend. With adapter, ran a cord to a normal outside receptacle without error code so energized the rv for the night. I expected the RV Power Distribution Monitor to read 15 Amp but the reading was 30. As we didnít need AC, I wasnít concerned about adjusting around. The thought is that the owner actually has a 30 amp service at that receptacle, a possible problem for friend or the rv monitor displays 30 on a 15 amp service?
GaryNK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 07:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,166
What power management system are you using?

I am not aware of any unit that can tell if you are connected to a 15 amp, 20 amp or even a 30 amp outlet. It just knows you are connected to 120 v outlet.

My guess your friend's 30 amp outlet is miss wired. I carry an outlet test with me. Very helpful tool when you have a flaky outlet.

Here is an example of one with a gfci tester:
https://www.amazon.com/Sperry-Instru...+tester&sr=8-5
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 08:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
ARoamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: St Johns MI
Posts: 344
Reverse Polarity-

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryNK View Post
Doing a one night at a friends. Plugged in to their 30 amp and got a Reverse Polarity error = problem for friend. With adapter, ran a cord to a normal outside receptacle without error code so energized the rv for the night. I expected the RV Power Distribution Monitor to read 15 Amp but the reading was 30. As we didnít need AC, I wasnít concerned about adjusting around. The thought is that the owner actually has a 30 amp service at that receptacle, a possible problem for friend or the rv monitor displays 30 on a 15 amp service?

Hard to speculate without more detailed info. What is giving the error? RV power Distribution Monitor??
No way can you "normally" get 30A from a 15A outlet.
Did your friend or a unlicensed electrician install the 30A receptacle?

From the web-
Reverse Polarity means neutral and hot are reversed, but the voltage is still correct at 120v (more or less). The way to test for it is to put a voltmeter between the neutral and ground terminals and test for zero voltage. Then, to double check, put the voltmeter between the hot & ground and check for 120v.
Most things still work when the polarity is reversed, but there are two potential problems:
1. Increased shock hazard
2. Some (few) things are polarity sensitive and not smart enough to verify the input power polarity. Those will either not work or go up in smoke.
__________________
2020 Pinnacle 32rlts
640 watts solar, 300AH lithium
2020 High Country Duramax 3500
TS3 Hitch
Ms says I'm full of useless knowledge and other stuff...
ARoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 08:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,690
Wouldn’t 30A from the power dist panel indicate the TT is consuming 30A? The 2nd question is how is a 15A plug delivering that, is it wired to a 30A or more breaker? If so, why.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 09:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Springtown
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHorse1 View Post
Wouldnít 30A from the power dist panel indicate the TT is consuming 30A? The 2nd question is how is a 15A plug delivering that, is it wired to a 30A or more breaker? If so, why.
As Jagiven stated, your monitor doesn't know if you are plugged into 15,20, or 30 amp circuit. Also, the monitor doesn't know how much current the TT is consuming based on you seeing a 30A reading when plugged in.

What it could know, is that 50A service uses 2 legs of 120v and it likely is reporting when it sees 2 legs as 50A and when it sees only 1 leg it shows 30A.

For your last question, a circuit (plug) that is protected with a 15A breaker is not going to deliver 30A of current. The confusion I suspect that your are seeing is that the monitor shows 30A, but again, it doesn't really know the difference between 15,20,30A breaker in the circuit. Many monitors and EMS systems will allow you to specify that you are only connected to a 15A or 20A breaker to help the EMS make better decisions in managing the power.

~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.