Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2016, 01:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
havnfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 2,566
TV signal only half there????

My 2014 24FBS has 3 television cable feeds, with only LR (main) hooked to a TV when purchased. Late last year I added a TV in BR but could only get half the channels. Took to CW this spring for last warranty work, and they "fixed" that problem. Tried it out in BR last month but still only half the channels go to BR TV. Warranty has now ended.

Today I dug into the issue and checked many points of connection. Pulled both main and BR boxes and found loose wires, tightened them but no change. Put in a new gold splitter but no change, Moved BR TV to main cable box and all channels received (not BR TV issue). Moved main TV to BR box and received only half the channels. Moved TV to the outside cable box, hooked it up, and only half the channels....same as bedroom.
It appears that all connections are okay but full signals don't get to the BR box and the outside box. Could it be that both of those cables are having issues???
Doesn't seem likely to me but I guess it's possible.

Do you guys know of anything else I should check or look for before I go back to CW with this problem? I would tell CW that they didn't ever fix my warranty item and they need to fix it now (that should be a fun discussion).

Happy RVing,
Jeff
__________________

__________________
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite. 2009 F150 Supercab UNICORN, 5.4L ,3.73, HD/Max Tow Package, Equal-i-zer 1K,
Progressive EMS-LCHW30, TST 507RV TPMS, Hydro Life HL-200, Maxxis 8008.
Best friend wife, Di, and dog Cooper. RETIRED 6/30/16. WOOHOO!
havnfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 02:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
Are all your TVs connected to the same source i.e. Antenna?
Most TVs when configuring and scanning for channels must have the correct source selected, such as Antenna to properly scan for and find all channels.
__________________

abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 02:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 413
The problem may be the splitters. If you have 100% signal coming into a splitter that divides to two outputs, each line will only get at most 50% of the signal strength on each out put. If it is a 3 out splitter you get basically 1/3 of the signal strength on each output. You may need to purchase and amplified splitter that increases signal strength as it splits it. There are usually some losses in the splitter so the sum of the outputs is usually less than the input. To complicate things further some 3 way splitters don't divide the signal evenly between the outputs.

Long runs, damaged shielding and loose connections can also degrade the signal.
__________________
2011 Skylark 21FKV
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 05:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
havnfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 2,566
Abarkl- yes all come from the same source and yes, TVs are were scanned to the antennae source.

YS71na- So I hadn't heard that the signal strength is reduced by the splitter. I've used splitters for years and never saw that happen but most of the signals were from cable or satellite and not a weaker antennae signal. I live in a remote area and the CGs I have used are also somewhat remote. That splitter signal loss then makes some sense to me. Hadn't encountered an amplified splitter before and I wonder if they are small enough to jam inside the wall with all the cables, etc.?

Thanks,
Happy RVing,
Jeff
__________________
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite. 2009 F150 Supercab UNICORN, 5.4L ,3.73, HD/Max Tow Package, Equal-i-zer 1K,
Progressive EMS-LCHW30, TST 507RV TPMS, Hydro Life HL-200, Maxxis 8008.
Best friend wife, Di, and dog Cooper. RETIRED 6/30/16. WOOHOO!
havnfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Have you hooked up the 1/2 channel TV to the full channel TV cable? Maybe it's the television set.
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
havnfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post
Have you hooked up the 1/2 channel TV to the full channel TV cable? Maybe it's the television set.
Yes Smoker, I tried that and did get full channels on the 1/2 TV.

Do others have reduced channels(signal) in BR TVs after it goes thru the splitter, in more remote areas??

Happy RVing,
Jeff
__________________
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite. 2009 F150 Supercab UNICORN, 5.4L ,3.73, HD/Max Tow Package, Equal-i-zer 1K,
Progressive EMS-LCHW30, TST 507RV TPMS, Hydro Life HL-200, Maxxis 8008.
Best friend wife, Di, and dog Cooper. RETIRED 6/30/16. WOOHOO!
havnfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:20 PM   #7
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 11,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post
Have you hooked up the 1/2 channel TV to the full channel TV cable? Maybe it's the television set.
I think he covered that is post #1. I think you may have a beef w/ CW. Did you ever verify it to see if it was fixed?

Trust but verify?
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 06:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
havnfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Grants, New Mexico
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
I think he covered that is post #1. I think you may have a beef w/ CW. Did you ever verify it to see if it was fixed?

Trust but verify?
I preach Trust but Verify to my employees but guess who didn't do it this time? Hmmmmm....

Yes, I believe CW will be hearing from me soon.

Happy RVing,
Jeff
__________________
2014 Jayflight 24FBS Elite. 2009 F150 Supercab UNICORN, 5.4L ,3.73, HD/Max Tow Package, Equal-i-zer 1K,
Progressive EMS-LCHW30, TST 507RV TPMS, Hydro Life HL-200, Maxxis 8008.
Best friend wife, Di, and dog Cooper. RETIRED 6/30/16. WOOHOO!
havnfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 07:47 PM   #9
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 11,538
I'm not from Missouri but when someone tell me it's fixed, I say "SHOW ME".
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 07:48 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
Do you have the typical Winegard batwing antenna with the amplifier and is it powered on as indicated by the LED?
__________________

abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.