Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2012, 04:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
MrKong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 337
Fastaway E2 Sway Control Bracket Problem

I was coming home from my second trip out and about a mile from the house I hear a loud pop when I made a turn. Everything handled fine, and no vibrations, and I did not see anything in the mirror so I went on home. After backing the camper in place I sat down on the porch to rest a minute. When I looked over, I seen one of my bars laying on the ground. I thought I might have lost on of the L brackets, until I went over for a closer look.

The sway bracket was shoved back on the frame on ****ed up at a funny angle. I don't think it bent the frame, it will be Saturday when I get a chance to work on it.

Everything was tight when I left, and rode well.

Does this happen this hitch often?

I wanted a Reese Cam system when I bought it, but the dealer said that hitch was too heavy for my 19H and could bend the frame.

I thought about putting locktite on the bolts when I get it straightened out. I don't want it to slide around again, and have to take off the locktite.


I just downloaded the manual, and it looks like the dealer may have installed it incorrectly, I need to get in for a closer look.

http://www.fastwaytrailer.com/pdf/e2...0710_small.pdf

Sorry for the bad pic, my camera was fogging up from coming out of the AC.
Attached Thumbnails
358.jpg  
__________________

__________________
MrKong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
Unfortunately I'm not that familiar with the E2 WDH and/or it's proper mounting/set-up requirements, but I have heard of the "L" brackets coming loose at times, but normally associated with the heavier tongue weight applications.

Also, your dealer's comment that the Reese HP Dual Cam would be to heavy (or bend the frame) is incorrect. Both the E2 WDH and Reese HP Dual Cam WDH require a minimum 400lb tongue weight to function properly, and they both offer a 600lb and 800lb rated WDH. Any WDH could potentially compromise a TT frame if not properly selected, installed, and/or adjusted (as you are finding out).

I do have a couple of questions:

* In your pic where is the bottom frame bolt that goes through the link plates?

* What did you find in reviewing the product manual that suggested it may not have been installed correctly?

I'm sure some "E2" members will chime in shortly.

Bob
__________________

__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:35 PM   #3
Member
 
SBruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 66
I have not had any problems with mine. I have the e 2 round bar 1000#. Checking the distance measurement is where I would start. And while hooked up, were bars somewhat level, or angled up?
__________________
2010 Siverado LTZ Crew Cab
2010 Jayco 23J
E2 w/ Prodigy
SBruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
David472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 1,393
I had the same slippage problem. You will find my solution in this thread at posting #8. I've done a couple thousand miles of towing since the fix, and had no more problems.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/showthrea...ight=equalizer
__________________
Jayco Eagle 31.5RLDS
GMC Sierra 2500 HD
David472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:54 PM   #5
Member
 
SBruman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 66
Thats a good idea. I Think I will add that to the list. Thanks.
__________________
2010 Siverado LTZ Crew Cab
2010 Jayco 23J
E2 w/ Prodigy
SBruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
CruizinKim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Southwest OH
Posts: 786
We have same one. Just checked and we are good. My hubby asked, "why would they only use one bolt?"
__________________
Kim
2012 Jayflight 32bhds
CruizinKim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
David472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 1,393
If you're asking why I added only one bolt........the bolt anchors the center point of the clamping plates, and there is enough friction generated by the clamping action of the top and bottom bolts to prevent the plates from rotating around that new center bolt.
__________________
Jayco Eagle 31.5RLDS
GMC Sierra 2500 HD
David472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:42 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
Check this out... hope it helps

Equalizer Failure - Aditional Precautions to Avoid Failure
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
MrKong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 337
Well, when you look at the manual on correct and incorrect, they show slightly different pictures. I think installation is fine. It just worked loose. According to the manual, they need to be tightened every 100 miles, and after a while, they will stop working loose. So, I guess its my fault for that one.

The problem with adding a bolt is drilling the frame. That voids the warranty, along with welding the plates to the frame. I have had this unit since May, and this was its second trip out, besides the tow home from the dealer.

The bottom bolt does not go through the outside plate. It actually has a plate that sits on a plate.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/attachmen...9&d=1314210795

Borrowing this image from HealthI you can see what I am talking about. The outside plate is pushed out on the bottom by the bolt head. Tomorrow when I get home from work, I will get better pictures.

When I checked the other side, the outside plate was loose on it too. I could move it with my foot.

I guess the good Lord had his hand on my should and this did not happen cruising down the interstate.
__________________
MrKong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:47 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
Actually, should have added... we haven't had a single problem since the above 'fix'
__________________

__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.