Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-21-2023, 09:46 PM   #1

Tires

I’m new to the Jayco family and this forum, so, if I’m repeating an older thread, I apologize. We have a new to us, 2013 Jay Feather Ultra Lite X19H Hybrid. My question is about tires and finding a good replacements. Everything I’ve read talks about tires made in China, but, when I try to find a quality replacement, I run into size issues. Currently it has Carlisle ST185/80D13 with unknown miles and a MFG date of 2017.
Can I go up in tire size using the same rims in order to buy quality tires?
Thanks in advance for any and all opinions and/or suggestions.
exfiredude56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2023, 10:30 PM   #2

Welcome to the Forum!
I looked and you are very limited on your choices. Can you go larger? Not really. Those are pretty much the largest 13” tires you can get. If you go to 14” or 15”, then you can go to 205 or 225. Most people say they buy Goodyear Endurance for their trailers. I can’t find them in that size.
I would suggest you buy tires from a chain that has stores near areas you plan on traveling to. That way, if you have a problem, you can get warranty replacements easily.
Best wishes, Kevin
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2023, 12:36 AM   #3

Ask Jayco what the proper tire size is.
Old 11-22-2023, 08:14 PM   #4

X2 verifying the correct size from the factory. It wouldn't be the first time someone installed a different size.

Not all imported tires are created equal. One you get the size you'll know your options. Careful maintenance and monitoring will avoid most problems
Old 11-22-2023, 09:32 PM   #5

I saw that there was someone in 2015 that got 205 tires on a 14” rim and had plenty of room around them on a smaller unit of same series.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2023, 09:30 AM   #6