Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-06-2018, 07:57 AM   #1

was it winterized properly

I'm a newbie with my Jayco Greyhawk so I have a basic question. I took my Greyhawk to a reputable RV repair shop to be winterized. Later I noticed the only sign of antifreeze was in the toilet. The bathroom and kitchen sink seem to be as they were when I dropped it off--hand soap in the sinks with no sign of antifreeze. I opened one of the lowpoint drains a little and water came out with possibly some antifreeze in it. I thought the fresh water tank was completely emptied in the winterization process. Should I go back to the rv repair shop? They charged me $130.

maprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 01:15 PM   #2

You could use a flashlight to look down the sink drains, should be able to see some pink stuff that way. Rolling down the road will usually move some water around in the lines, I used to leave my LP drains open on the way home in an attempt to get as much out as possible, especially the last trip in the fall. The LP drains drain the water lines, there is a FW tank drain as well.

The owners manual will indicate the potential locations of the LP and FW tank drains.

Equalizer WDH
TV 2018 F150 FX4 SC 3.5EB TP/MT
jimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 03:31 PM   #3

I did my own for about 5.00 took 20 min at most. My wife keeps telling me I need to start my own business. Two gallons of RV antifreeze.If you turn pump on it should spurt the pink stuff out the faucet
che57vy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 04:43 PM   #4

I am a belt and suspenders guy who lost some frozen fittings several years ago to the pink only method.

After flushing with pink antifreeze I also do a compressed air flush of the system.

If you have any compressor that can produce enough air then get one of these
Camco 36143 Blow Out Plug with Brass Quick Connect

and blow out the system one tap at a time.