Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-03-2019, 03:45 PM   #1

Adding generator

Hi, new too this site, looking for ideas/options for mounting my Westinghouse igen 4500 genny on/in my '07 Jayflight 27.5RKS. Thinking of a rear cargo carrier because it has a receiver on already plus the shoreline cord is right around the corner. Looking too boondock alot so want it quick without having too unload an run cords etc. Also be able too run it while in transit. Only thing Im trying too figure out is some kind of enclosure too keep it out of elements. Pics if your set up an ideas appreciated, thanks much
Dearlh62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 04:15 PM   #2

I have no personal experience, but have you checked the receiver weight rating?

Be sure to allow for the genney, fuel, platform, enclosure if you make one and any accessories you want to put on it. Fuel, cords, oil, tools, etc.

If you build an enclosure make sure you have adequate ventilation to avoid overheating. Probably need a box fan on one end to push or pull the air.

Last, make sure there is zero chance of carbon monoxide getting into the RV. Odd things happen with air flow while moving or in certain wind conditions. Carbon monoxide kills!
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 04:22 PM   #3

Previous owner pulled small trailer with a golf cart on it, so I'm hoping just a 100lb. genny, nothing else but enclosure on a 500 lb, rated cargo rack would be fine. Looking at the Husky 37 black storage box from Home Depot. Yes, I figured on plenty of ventilation an some sort of fan too circulate air. Thanks for reply.
Old 01-03-2019, 05:10 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dearlh62 View Post