Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2016, 06:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
30 amp to 110?? adapter..?

Hello. i have 2016 Jayco travel trailer. it runs on 30 amps via the thick cord in the back side of the trailer. after i purchased at camping world i got a bunch of accessories and supplies... the salesman highly suggestion a small cord that plugs into my 30 amp cord and the other plugs into a regular house plug in... Im not sure exactly how to use it though... I was hoping i could get some insight here.



Thanks,
new jayco owner
__________________

23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 06:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,047
Congratulations on your new trailer and welcome to the JOF.

That adapter allows you to plug into an outlet at your house, for example. Then you can use that power to charge your batteries, run the refrigerator without using propane, power your trailer's outlets, etc. However, don't expect it to supply enough power to run your air conditioner or the microwave.
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 06:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
ah thank you... if i am out some place is there a way to tell if i can run certain things only? for example can u run the tv off the plug and use gas for the refrigerator?

i figured it wouldn't run the ac. is there any kind of safety features that will shut off the power or stop the device if its using too much power?? or any protector thats available to protect from over power...?
23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 06:22 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Exeter
Posts: 101
You have 15 amps to work with (as opposed to 30amps) you can run the same as you could off a 15amp circuit in your house. The fridge needs 12volts and propane, nothing to do with shore power.

The safety feature is your circuit breaker in the panel (in your house). It will trip just like overloading any outlet/circuit in the house.
__________________
2015 Nissan Frontier SV CC 4WD
2014 Jayco Sport 8
Levinehikeski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 06:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23jayco View Post
ah thank you... if i am out some place is there a way to tell if i can run certain things only? for example can u run the tv off the plug and use gas for the refrigerator?

i figured it wouldn't run the ac. is there any kind of safety features that will shut off the power or stop the device if its using too much power?? or any protector thats available to protect from over power...?
The circuit breaker ('fuse') of the circuit you plug into will limit the power you can use. You won't 'over power' anything in the trailer. You will be able to watch tv, use the lights, run the refrigerator (using electricity) all on the smaller (house) outlet.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 07:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levinehikeski View Post
You have 15 amps to work with (as opposed to 30amps) you can run the same as you could off a 15amp circuit in your house. The fridge needs 12volts and propane, nothing to do with shore power.

The safety feature is your circuit breaker in the panel (in your house). It will trip just like overloading any outlet/circuit in the house.

Ok that makes sense... Any way to see how many Amps the tv uses. Or microwave etc??

I'm prettier sure there's a circuit breaker and fuses in the trailer. Will those stop anything from being hurt by trying to draw too much power..?
23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 07:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Exeter
Posts: 101
Yes, a little investigating on the power supply of the tv will tell you the amps. Your microwave will show power in watts, 1000 watt ~8.3amps, 1500 watt ~12.5amps.

As long as the fuses are sized correctly
__________________
2015 Nissan Frontier SV CC 4WD
2014 Jayco Sport 8
Levinehikeski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 07:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
anav8or's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23jayco View Post
Ok that makes sense... Any way to see how many Amps the tv uses. Or microwave etc??

I'm prettier sure there's a circuit breaker and fuses in the trailer. Will those stop anything from being hurt by trying to draw too much power..?
Our portable surge protector / power conditioner shows the amp draw of the coach - useful for turning things on and off to see how many amps each item draws.

The circuit breakers in the trailer probably won't come into play. The breaker in your house protecting the 110v outlet will trip before anything in the trailer could draw enough power to trip one of the trailer breakers.

I often plug our Seneca into a 110v outlet while loading up - I can run the fridge, lights, and one of the A/C units without a problem.
__________________
Ty & Deb Montag
Columbus, OH
2015 Jayco Seneca 36FK
2014 Honda CR-V toad

anav8or is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 07:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
olyelr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kewadin, MI
Posts: 190
Just use whatever you want to use. If you draw too much power, it will trip the breaker in the house. No biggy.
__________________
2016 Jayflight 28BHBE Elite
2016 RAM 2500 Laramie Power Wagon (4x4, 6.4 Hemi, 4.10 gears).

olyelr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 07:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ninjahbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Eatonton
Posts: 305
23Jayco If you take the microwave and the AC out of the equation and you can run about anything you want. If you have the 13,500 ac you should be able to use it sparingly.
__________________

ninjahbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.