Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-26-2018, 01:29 PM   #1

Are new races required with new bearings?

I pulled my tires off and decided to lube the bearings. I found that the rear seal was leaking so I got new seals.

This got me to thinking and I found Timken bearings on Amazon. Can I install new bearings on the old races? There is no evidence of failure on the bearings but it would be nice to get reliable American ones.

I have no experience in changing the races or equipment to do it. Can I put new bearings (Timken) in the Chinese original equipment races?

Thanks, leaving up on the blocks till I hear back. My dealer not open till Tuesday.
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 01:43 PM   #2

Personally, I wouldn’t. Replacing a race is not hard and the only tools needed are a hammer and a punch long enough to fit through the hub to the opposite side race. You will see the small lip of the race and just start tapping the race with the punch moving evenly around the race. To put the new one in, put the new race in the freezer for a bit and most of the time they will drop in, if not, I usually put the old race up against the new one and tap in the new one using the old race. Ton of YouTube videos showing it.

Rustynuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 02:36 PM   #3

Ditto.

While you have it up and apart it's not that much extra effort to replace the races too. That way you know everything is fresh.
PlayersZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 03:19 PM   #4