Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, Mi
Posts: 6
Driveway Camp Site

If I plug my TT into a regualar 120V 20Amp outlet can I run the A/C and a few lights without a problem or causing damage to the A/C unit?
__________________

tman5781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 07:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Merrimack NH
Posts: 804
Check the info sticker on the ac for start and run amps, the lights are probably 12v from the converter or invertrer which ever i keep forgetting so that will also be included your 120v load.
__________________

__________________
Larry & Rachel Demers 2013 F150 Eco Boost Super Cab 6.5 bed 6 sp. 3.31 4x4
29BHS ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 07:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
villain2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 206
I have done it with no issues. Just make sure you're using the 30amp cord with an adapter. If you use a thinner guage extension cord, you wouldnt beleive hot it gets. I did this once without really thinking about it, because I just wanted to play with everything when I first got my tt home. Never again. I ordered a 50 foot 30 amp extension cord on ebay that evening so i could reach my outlet and run the a/c.
__________________
Traded IN 19BH......;-( Miss It!

:cool: 2013 F150 STX Super Cab With Factory Tow Package, Inegrated Trailer Brake Control, 5.0 Liter with 3.55 Gears and Posi Traction :cool:
villain2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 07:39 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,655
Use a voltmeter and keep an eye on the voltage. Should be above 110 at least.

__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 09:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by tman5781 View Post
If I plug my TT into a regualar 120V 20Amp outlet can I run the A/C and a few lights without a problem or causing damage to the A/C unit?
I have done it. Even with a 30 amp cord and an adapter, the outlet became unacceptably hot when the AC was on. And most outlets are 15 amp, not 20. There is no way I would ever do it again. Too dangerous. Everything else in the trailer will operate just fine on 15 amps, just not the AC.

Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 09:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
If you can go right into the household outlet, you might be ok - I have done it before. If you have to add an extension cord - then probably not. Like Crabman says - watch the voltage! Your manuals will generally tell you the minimum acceptable voltage for your AC.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 01:46 PM   #7
Member
 
ldlogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bainbridge in Southwest Ga.
Posts: 61
Best way to go is to hard wire from the house main box a 30a receptacle box so as to be able to reach it with the reg camper cord. That way nothing is damaged and it isn't all that costly to do.

That's what I did at my house. I now have a 50a camper but the 30a circuit will still run anything in the 50a camper you need except 2 A/C which we don't have..
__________________
Dewayne & Judy
2006 Chev 2500 D/A, LBZ, CC, 4x4, SRW, SB
2008 Cedar Creek 30RKTS W/3 slide
PullRite 18k Superglide
Bainbridge, Ga. Extreme Southwest Georgia
Retired: Dewayne 04-22-2010, Judy 01-2011
Mudflaps Camping Club Website http://mudflaps.freeforums.org
A local camping club for S Al, S Ga, N Fl campers
ldlogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 07:35 PM   #8
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
It would work but I would be hesitant to make it a permanent arrangement.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 01:34 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, Mi
Posts: 6
Thanks Everyone, I think I will take the advice of running a seperate 30 amp circuit from the fuse box. Better safe than sorry!!!
__________________

tman5781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.