Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-12-2018, 06:40 PM   #1

Generator questions

I have read here that one should not let your generator run out of fuel while operating your A/C as the surging could damage your unit. I have 2 Honda 2000I's. Is it the same using these running paralleled? If so I have a surge /low voltage protector. Could / should this be used to prevent damage? And lastly
....for those that do have and use 2 Honda 2000's running together...How long do they usually run on full tanks running the A/C
TIA
Drop
12ptdroptine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 12:48 PM   #2

I'm no expert, but I'm happy to share my experience.

Paralleling the two Honda 2000s makes for a great setup for a 30 amp service RV. We ran a setup like that for 5 or 6 days a month on our 30 amp trailer for about 3 years. In the summer we ran both generators and on really hot days they ran out of gas on occasion. Our Progressive Industries 30-amp EMS would cut the power when the voltage dropped and sometimes the breakers on the Hondas would trip. It never caused us any equipment problems.

The run-time would vary depending on how hot it was and how much the A/C ran. We could go 7 or 8 hours over night, but maybe only 5 hours during the day (95+ degrees).

I ran three 2000s in parallel for my 50-amp trailer with 2 A/Cs. I forgot to fill them up one day and they ran for 11 hours before I remembered! It took about 2.5 gallons to fill them up, but we were running with the suggestions below and weren't in the trailer much.

Things you can do to increase the run-time on a tank of fuel include:
turn up the thermostat so the A/C doesn't run as much
park in the shade
put out your awning if the sun is hitting the awning-side of the trailer
close the blinds
run the frig on propane
run the water heater on propane