Jayco RV Owners Forum
 



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2018, 07:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 90
Need help quickly. New thermostat.

Alló

I am set to make my 2018 maiden voyage tomorrow with the Mrs. Today I installed a Honeywell RTH111 digital thermostat in place of my Coleman Mach analog. I had the AC working, but heat didnt come on. I added the Blue wire to B. And nothing worked including the fan. I removed Blue altogether and now nothing works. No heat or AC.

I checked the fuses and reset the breakers and watched numerous youtube videos showing I am wired correctly. Green, Yellow, White and Red but still no heat or AC. The thermostat clicks but no heat or AC.

I am plugged into 120 at my house as I pack which normally supports the heat and ac.

I appreciate any assistance. We leave tomorrow, or not if I dont get this fixed.

Thanks
__________________

rtiedeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,970
You have a couple wires missing.

Green HI fan
Gray Low fan
Yellow Compressor
Red Positive
Blue. Negative
White Heat
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:40 PM   #3
Site Team
 
2008Seneca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 792
Does the system still work with the old thermostat?
__________________
Always at home wherever we roam.
2008 Jayco Seneca 35GS
2008Seneca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 90
I will test old thermostat tomorrow. I cut the wires and need to solder new leads to connect to.
rtiedeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
You have a couple wires missing.

Green HI fan
Gray Low fan
Yellow Compressor
Red Positive
Blue. Negative
White Heat


Blue neagtive goes to where on honeywell rth111? Also where does gray low go on honeywell?

I read blue and grey are left out? I did put blue to B on boneywell at one point, and thats when everything stopped working.

Ugh
rtiedeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtiedeken View Post
Blue neagtive goes to where on honeywell rth111? Also where does gray low go on honeywell?

I read blue and grey are left out? I did put blue to B on boneywell at one point, and thats when everything stopped working.

Ugh
Can't answer those questions I always used COLEMAN digital, never a residential stat. You have to get a ground up to the a/c control box on the roof, without it nothing will work the relays. Sounds like you may have shorted something out.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,051
Found this maybe it will help

Red wire is for 12VDC-- Which can be taped off

Blue wire is for (-) 12VDC-- Which can be taped off

Yellow wire is for A/C compressor- Which should go to the Y on thermostat

Green wire is for high fan setting on A/C- Which should go to the G on thermostat

Grey wire is for low fan setting- Which should go to the G on thermostat

White wire is for the furnace- Which should go to the W on the thermostat
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 90
I love this forum, so helpful, i will try all suggestions.
rtiedeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 07:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,970
There should be enough slack in the wall to get the actual thermostat wire pulled out.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 08:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
There should be enough slack in the wall to get the actual thermostat wire pulled out.


There is, and the colors dont match what is in the original thermostat.

It seems as if there is a fuse or reset that needs to happen. All fuses in canin checked and breakers are good.
__________________

rtiedeken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.