Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-31-2021, 02:51 PM   #1

Newbie Fridge Question

Our rig has a residential style fridge and a power inverter. I understand items will stay cold for hours and you can pack with ice packs to help stay cool once the fridge is to temp.

My question is...our maiden voyage is this weekend. Once I hook up to my truck can I turn on the fridge so it can start to cool while we drive for 2-3 hours while we keep our food in a cooler? Or is it just best to wait until we get hooked to shore power. Sorry if this is very basic, but we are complete newbs to RV's.
SlimPickins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 03:31 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimPickins View Post
Our rig has a residential style fridge and a power inverter. I understand items will stay cold for hours and you can pack with ice packs to help stay cool once the fridge is to temp.

My question is...our maiden voyage is this weekend. Once I hook up to my truck can I turn on the fridge so it can start to cool while we drive for 2-3 hours while we keep our food in a cooler? Or is it just best to wait until we get hooked to shore power. Sorry if this is very basic, but we are complete newbs to RV's.