Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2016, 05:45 PM   #21
bap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Walpole
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalebra View Post
Pman1088,

Consider yourself a very, very lucky person that you have not had a fire.
The only way you have gotten by with this setup is that you have not drawn over 20 amps for any length of time. If you indeed are drawing close to 30 Amps using 12AWG for any good length of time your insulation on your wires have started to melt. After melt will be fire. Any size breaker larger than a 20 Amp defeats the entire purpose of the breaker. You have been lucky and I seriously encourage you to discontinue the use of this circuit as you have it.
Or at least discontinue advising other people to do it.
__________________

bap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 07:41 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Way down here........FL
Posts: 1,006
Electrician

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParrishCamper View Post
We have a 30 amp outlet in out garage.
I need to see if there is a certain length you should not exceed on a 30 amp power cord. Problem is our camper is parked on the side of the house and doesn't come close to reaching outlet with camper power cord and 20 ft extention. Can I safely add another 50 ft cord or would that cause issues?
An electrician quoted $700 to move 30 amp outlet to side of house.
Or can I plug the camper into an adapter so I can use a standard outlet already on the side of the house. I would like run AC (1 - 15k BTU on low) and fridge. Or would this cause issues to our AC over time? Would only run AC while packing and making beds. Currently is a sweat box.

I would find another electrician
__________________

jasum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 07:57 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
Do you have an attached or detached garage?

Depending on the labor to run the wire, will determine the cost. I do alot of industry project management, electrian's charge between $75- $100 per hour, for labor.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 07:32 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
The electrician you called probably did not want the job so he quoted a ridiculous price.. knowing you would not take it.. either find one that wants the job or do it yourself.. go to the local hardware tell them what you are doing get a 30 amp single pole breaker enough wire of a heavy enough gauge and spend some time doing it... the hardware's will give you enough advice to do it safely.. I did my own....
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 08:51 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
The electrician you called probably did not want the job so he quoted a ridiculous price.. knowing you would not take it.. either find one that wants the job or do it yourself.. go to the local hardware tell them what you are doing get a 30 amp single pole breaker enough wire of a heavy enough gauge and spend some time doing it... the hardware's will give you enough advice to do it safely.. I did my own....
I said back near the beginning of this thread that I thought the electrician's quote might be a bit high. But it might not be. Consider that the retail price of the necessary hardware might well be $200, before labor. Circuit breaker, 50' of 10/3 wire, weatherproof outdoor box and outlet, associated hardware. And we don't know anything about the OP's home and what might be involved in actually running the wire, including wall penetrations, pulls, mounting the outside box, etc.

I wouldn't hesitate to do it myself in my home, and I've been thinking about it. But then I think to myself, do I REALLY need to run the A/C in my TT when it's parked in my driveway, or do I just need to be able to turn on the lights or run the pump for winterizing, etc. So far I'm good with the 25' 12 ga. orange extension cord.

Roger
__________________

TV 2010 Ford F-150 Supercab
TT 2016 Jay Feather 23RLSW
rkresge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 10:57 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: SLC
Posts: 56
Thanks for the info! When I got home from camping today I swapped the wire out for some 10/2 romex. It had 12 in it before. The run was less the 3' long, from the top of the breaker box to the outlet installed under it. Maybe that explains why my house has not caught fire.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayflight 28BHBE Fiberglass/Elite
2014 F-150 4x4 Supercrew, Eco-Boost, Max Tow
pman1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.