Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-19-2024, 10:13 AM   #1

Trailer brake issues

Guys, I’m handy and not too dumb…. However, I’m not good at electrical or troubleshooting.

That said, I definitely think I’m not getting trailer brakes. I thought perhaps they weren’t working on the day I bought it and drove it home, but now I’m confident they aren’t working (well, semi-confident). I had a yield-too-late incident where I needed to jam on the brakes and it definitely felt like all pickup brake. I recently upgraded to lithium, so I was in that junction box and know that the wires got a trim and a new wire nut and it was snugly fastened.

What would your first steps be to troubleshoot? Pickup is 23’ Chevy Silverado 1500 and trailer is 2018 Jayco SLX Baja 174BH

Thanks all!
Ryan31b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 10:26 AM   #2

I would look at the wiring near the actual brakes, make sure something isn’t just hanging there..
Next thing I would check is your trailer brake gain. While in that screen and the trailer plugged in, push your truck brake and you should see apply the trailer brakes. I’m assuming your using the Chevy built in brake controller.
Next I would go to a large parking lot, just going slowly, use your manual trailer brake and see if it stops you.

2021 GMC half ton T/V
2022 Jayfeather 25RB
Anderson WDH
Markb5900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 10:27 AM   #3

Also check the tow vehicle --Don't have a chevy but 2 of my fords had a separate fuse for this and both over the years had blown causing trailer brake issues.
Gtschmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 10:30 AM   #4

Pull the break away switch and see if the trailer will move. Pulling the switch will lock up the brakes.
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2024, 12:13 PM   #5

Quote: