Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2011, 11:08 AM   #11
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,053
When I use my 50a rig with a 30a adapter, I can run either AC at a time. I have never tried both at the same time and don't plan to.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:08 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
Maybe they used the 30A cord because the 50A is so heavy and they didn't plan on needing 50A
__________________

__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
yddad45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Meridian,ms
Posts: 255
On my 330rlts when plugged up to 50 amp I can run both A/C's, on 30 amp only one will work.Even with the 50 amp service plugged up, I still had the breaker trip twice on pedestal on my first outing, but I did not have the lights dimming on me which I have in the past with the 30 amp service. I will always use the 50 amp when possible and cannot think why someone would not want too.
__________________
2010 F250 6.4 L
2011 Jayco 330 RTLS
yddad45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:14 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 13
kinda off subject but with the tt is there anything wrong with using the 50amp service insted of the 30amp?

example: when i was on vacation last month in florida at fort wilderness when i hooked up i used the 30amp plug and noticed that it was having trouble keeping 110v when the a/c was on so i moved to the 50amp with the 50 to 30amp reducer im not sure if it really helped any but seemed to maybe get me a little closed to 110v when the a/c was on.

sorry i hijacked the thread but figured it would be easyer to ask on here then start another one about almost the same thing

Thanks: TC
__________________


2006 GMC Serria 2500HD EXT. Cab with Cab high Topper
2011 Jayco 28BHS Eqlizer Hitch

DW-Jessie
Son-Lucas 11 months

Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground:mickey:
May 2011 site:1622
Aug 2012 site:1022
Feb 2013 site:1120
Apr 2013 Site:???? Lucas 4/11 grandpa 4/9 :Birthday:
Apr 2013 Site:???? ::woohoo::
Think I have a Disney problem??

T-Cossart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, N.Y.
Posts: 631
If given the choice I prefer the 50 amp hookup over the 30 amp hookup. Usually the 50 amp hookup has been less used and has a tighter fit, less chance of arcing.
__________________
Joe, Joyce , 4 Kids and 3 Dogs.
2004 V-10 Excursion with Hellwig sway bar, Roadmaster Active Suspension, Bilstein shocks and steering stabilizer, Super Duty Tow Mirrors,
3.73 Gears, Reese dual cam, Prodigy brake controller.
2010 Jayco Jay Flight G-2 32 BHDS
usmc616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:51 AM   #16
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,053
If 50a is available, I would use it. Some cg's charge extra for 50a service but if I need it, it is worth it.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 09:30 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
If 50a is available, I would use it. Some cg's charge extra for 50a service but if I need it, it is worth it.
I think that just may be the answer as to why they hooked up 30 rather than 50. Why pay more if you know you won't be needing the extra amperage.
__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:18 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Cossart1 View Post
kinda off subject but with the tt is there anything wrong with using the 50amp service insted of the 30amp?

sorry i hijacked the thread but figured it would be easyer to ask on here then start another one about almost the same thing

Thanks: TC
LOL... no worries. You're fine; this thread is about 30amp and 50amp
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:25 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
yddad45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Meridian,ms
Posts: 255
You must understand that Rv parks have a very unstable current draw, A/C cycling off and on, 12 v converters, etc and mostly R/V parks have a bad power factor because of this very unstable current draw. You find in alot of RV parks there voltage is on the low side of the scale especially on a 30 amp service because the 30 amp services are so loaded. If you can do something as simple as moving your plug to the 50 amp plug that alone should help as your shore power voltage should be more stable,current draws are alot more stable on the 50amp plug. I would recommend doing it when possible.
__________________
2010 F250 6.4 L
2011 Jayco 330 RTLS
yddad45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 07:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
yddad45, let me make sure I understand so I don't screw up my wiring. You are saying that it's better for our 30 amp wired tt to be plugged into a 50 amp female via a 30 to 50 adapter where possible? Also, I found the following on another site, it's three years old:
heres a thought, a standard camper could be wired for 50 amp, 120 volt service pretty easily, meaning just using one leg of the 240 volt service, would just require a heavier lead from the breaker panel, a 50 amp single pole breaker, and nothing more, wonder why this has never caught on?6000 watts versus 3600 watts, a sizable increase without replacing the breaker panel!!
What do you think of that idea?
__________________

__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.