Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2014, 01:49 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Winston Salem
Posts: 21
I just looked at the manual. You're right, nothing but the most basic information there.

Other than the outlets, what else is not working? Fridge, water heater? On my Jayco the outlets are on the same circuit as the fridge. Maybe yours is the same. Look behind the outside fridge panel and see if the gfci outlet is there. Or if the breaker in the panel is a gfci breaker.
__________________

mnebinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 02:57 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 4
Just the outlets with the GFCI labels are not working. All other 120V outlets, fridge, microwave, ceiling fan, vent fans, pop outs, forward and aft jacks and all lights work.

Taking your advice to just look harder I found another 120V GFCI outlet. This one in the bathroom and it has the TEST/RESET buttons. It won't TEST, it won't RESET its dead. If your theory that one GFCI outlet is the master then this is the master CFCI. Since it is dead then I should have breaker on the 120V panel open also. Unfortunately all breakers on the 120V panel are closed.

My 120V panel is labelled showing the outlets on the same circuit as the fridge same as yours. Thats what the label says. In reality all the none GFCI 120V outlets are powered through the breaker labeled POWER CONVERTER. I have no way of figuring out which breaker powers the GFCI outlets.

I looked behind the fridge. No joy. Just a simple 120V outlet powering the fridge.

Keep trying your helping me.
__________________

gh6gh6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:05 PM   #13
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,059
Fridge and GFCI

Any way to check voltage into the master GFCI. Loose connection. Or a bad receptacle. The others likely are fed from this one. The panel breaker does not have to be tripped.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:13 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 349
That gfci in bath that not responding may be on same circuit as the master gfci also having more than one gfci on same circuit will cause false tripping also look on the out side of camper or possibly storage areas
__________________
KELLY & LINDY ( SEMI RETIRED)
FORT WORTH,TEXAS
2000 FORD F-150 V-6/4.2
2006 JAYCO JAY FEATHER 23B EXP
EQUILIZER HITCH
Kellys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:20 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 349
You might need to get a voltage tester and pull out that gfci in the bath to see if it has voltage to it that could be the master gfci
__________________
KELLY & LINDY ( SEMI RETIRED)
FORT WORTH,TEXAS
2000 FORD F-150 V-6/4.2
2006 JAYCO JAY FEATHER 23B EXP
EQUILIZER HITCH
Kellys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:44 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 4
You guys are the best and I'm sold on this forum.
Here's the deal.
Following Kelly's direction I pulled the bathroom GFCI and put a meter on it. No power. There are two 120V cables going into the bathroom GFCI outlet so obviously this GFCI is the master feeding the others in series.
The 28.5 RKDS has a 50 Amp shore cable. At the feeder end of the cable are 2 blue LED lights. Plugged into 50amps both LED lights illuminate. Plugged into 15 or 30 Amps using an adapter only one of the 2 blue LED lights illuminates. I am at home plugged into 15 amps. Page 6-6 of the manual says the system is designed to operate on 2 legs of 120 V power. Using my handy dandy Camco 50 Amp Female to 15 Amp Male and 30 Amp Male
http://www.etrailer.com/Motorhome-Ac.../CAM55025.html
I plugged both the 30 amp and 15 amp male ends into the house 15 amp power. This tricked the second blue LED light into illuminating providing power to the 2nd leg. Back in the bathroom I was able to reset the master GFCI, all GFCI outlets work and I'm a happy camper.
I conclude that one of the 2 legs powers the GFCI circuit which is powered through the same breaker as the fridge as the panel label indicates. I lied earlier, the fridge was working on gas not 120V. The non GFCI outlets are powered through the POWER CONVERTER breaker and the panel label does not indicate this. Thanks again.
Ian
gh6gh6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:28 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Winston Salem
Posts: 21
All your outlets are powered through the power converter.
mnebinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:02 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Mine has always either been in the bathroom sink area, kitchen sink area, or basement water line input area. Sometimes they are extremely hard to find. Seems like I even had one onetime behind the refrigerator access panel on the outside skin.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:16 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Aha, once when I was plugged into 50 amp service with double switches, one switch did not go all the way home when I turned on the breaker. My gif circuits were not working either. After much head scratching and checking I finally disconnected the power cord, turned off the breaker, and turned them back on. This time both sides seated so both circuits were active and whallaaaaaa, everything worked! LIve and learn.

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:04 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Mine is in the bathroom, I had lost all power to my outlets on that circuit once I hit the reset it worked but turned out it was the bathroom outlet that caused the issues....
__________________

__________________
2009 Ford F150 Lariat CC 5.4 L with max tow
2013 Jayco Whitehawk 28DSBH
Canadian couple 1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.