Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2014, 04:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Dayton
Posts: 4
Fridge and GFCI

We just bought a 2008 Jay 806 and took it on a one-night trial run. In the course of prepping, I plugged the AC power in to a 20amp circuiit at home to check interior lights, water pump and refrigerator. Lights and pump - OK. Refrigerator - no cooling. Checked and there was no voltage to the plug in the back panel. Went to check fuses/breakers, and noticed the little red light glowing on the GFCI outlet. Reset it, and had power to the fridge. Came back about ten minutes later, and the GFCI is tripped again. Reset it, and about 5 minutes later it trips again. Well, we can use an ice chest for a one night stay. At the CG, plugged into 30amp. Again, after a short time, the GFCI trips. I'm thinking ahead to no coffee in the morning, since all outlets are dead. Unplugged the power cord for the refrigerator, reset the GFCI, and no more trips.
Now the question - should the refrigerator be on the GFCI circuit? And if it is, how do I find the problem?
All help appreciated.
__________________

kenefick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 05:16 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Had same problem with Chalet camper plugged fridge into regular outlet, no more problems. Was told my 2014 x213 fridge is not on gfi outlet.
__________________

cfrazierski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 08:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
It's probably a bad GFCI outlet. My outlet is right behind the fridge exterior vent...a potentially wet location.

I'd have the fridge tested to make sure it's OK then replace the GFCI

Good Luck
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 07:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threebutchers View Post
It's probably a bad GFCI outlet. My outlet is right behind the fridge exterior vent...a potentially wet location.

I'd have the fridge tested to make sure it's OK then replace the GFCI

Good Luck
x2. Did you try the outlet without the fridge plugged in? Perhaps another item like a radio you can hear until it trips.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 07:36 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Dayton
Posts: 4
Thanks for the replies.
New GFCI seems to have solved the problem.
kenefick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 07:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
..
Attached Images
 
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 08:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,435
Awesome! Glad it was a quick and relativity cheap fix.
__________________
2013 Jayco JayFlight 26RKS
2013 Ford F150 Ecoboost FX4

2003 Coleman Bayside / 2011 Jayco Jayfeather X20E -- RIP
2012 Tacoma Sport DCSB / 2013 Tundra SR5 - RIP
Heady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:29 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 4
Where is my GFCI

I don't know how to start a new thread so I am posting this here hoping someone will see it and steer me in the correct direction.

2015 Eagle 5th wheel touring 28.5RKDS
Shortly after accepting delivery the 120V outlets labelled GFCI went dead. These outlets are not real GFCI outlets the way I know them because there is no TEST/RESET buttons on them. This means that cleverly hidden somewhere in the trailer is a master GFCI TEST/RESET panel. Page 6-3 in the manual hints that this is the case. Can someone tell me where the master GFCI TEST RESET buttons are?
Thanks
gh6gh6
gh6gh6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 12:06 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Winston Salem
Posts: 21
There has to be an outlet with test/reset buttons or a circuit breaker with a test button. When you put in a gfci outlet, it protects that outlet and all the "downstream" outlets.

So look all around for the gfci outlet. And if you still can't find it call the dealer and ask them where it is.
mnebinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 12:36 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 4
Look harder. Did that already but I'll keep doing it.
Ask the dealer. The dealer doesn't know either but is confident they can find it if I am willing to drag the trailer 10 hours one way for them to take a look.
Does anyone actually know where the darn thing is?
We really like this trailer and expect to like it even more when I figure out how to make everything work.
__________________

gh6gh6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.