Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-16-2017, 08:15 AM   #1

Newbie here with tow questions...

I am newbie here but not new to the pop up life but new to owning my own. I have on 06 Pontiac Torrent AWD which is #3500 tow cap the tow bar is 7000#. I just got a 97 1207 and im trying to find the weight and all im being told is it is less then 2700#. Only an ebreak is on the camper and it would be 2 adults one kid in the vehicle. If it helps I tow a covered Titan snowmobile trailer with 2 sleds with ease. When I towed it home (only like 30 miles back roads) she followed like a dream very little movement and noise. On very rough roads and train tracks she only moved slightly. She did come with 2 full propane tanks and a deep cycle bat.
Now the questions
1. Can my vehicle tow that safely?
2. Do i need to add a breaking system?
3. If i need the breaking system...how does one go about adding that? Would I be able to do it or is it a shop type deal? Approx price range?
Thank you all in advance
MsVersave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:33 AM   #2

Your towing capacity includes the trailer, everything in it and everything in the tow vehicle (including the people). If the trailer is truly 2700 lbs, it's hard to imagine that you will not have at least 800 lbs of cargo and people, so you'll be very close on your limits. I'd take it to a CAT scale to get exact measurements.

Whether or not you need trailer brakes depends on where you live, where you'll be travelling and trailer weight. However, if the trailer is really that heavy, I'd get a brake controller installed (by a professional). If you don't, you will wear the brakes out on your tow vehicle very quickly and have a good chance of heating the rotors to the point that they warp.

Hope this helps.
Old 06-16-2017, 08:37 AM   #3