Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-16-2015, 08:56 PM   #1

2016 Ram 6.4 Hemi

Two weeks ago, I ordered a 2016 Ram 2500 Laramie Mega Cab with Ram Boxes and the 6.4 Hemi. I have always been a cummins guy, but saved $10,000 on the truck by going with the hemi. I have done lots of reviews and so far I have yet to come across any review saying they regret moving from the Cummins to the Hemi. Plus being a truck mechanic, I deal with lots of aftertreatment issues at work, and really don't want to deal with them at home also.

Mostly this truck is my daily driver. Of course it gets used for towing our RV and hauling my gooseneck around. Nothing near enough to justify a Cummins all of the time. I know at times I'm definitely going to miss the power, but I feel like it's worth a try.

Saving the money on the engine, I was able to order a several extras that I couldn't have ordered otherwise. I opted for the factory rear air suspension, bed camera, ram boxes, 20" wheels, etc.

Of course, now to the ram boxes. They obviously pose an issue with a fifth wheel. I believe I'm going to order the Reese Airborne Sidewinder. This seems like a perfect fit for my new application.

Truck will be here mid October. Wish me luck...

bed cam, air suspension
B&W Companion, Reese Airborne Sidewinder
Tgallagher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 09:12 PM   #2

I special ordered a 2015 of the same truck last year and have been very happy with it. For similar reasons I ordered the Hemi, we tow only a few times a year and FWIW the Hemi does a pretty good job when towing.

I will also say that this is by far my favorite vehicle I've ever owned. Its a really nice truck.

dspeers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 06:04 AM   #3

that is the truck I have my sights set on. what gears did you order? 3.73 or 4.10? congratulations on the new truck!
Old 09-17-2015, 06:33 AM   #4