Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2019, 07:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
39 In Furrion TV not accepting remote commands

Our 2017 Precept 35S came w/39 Furrion (FEHS39L6A) in the living room and a 32 Furrion in bedroom, in addition to the outside TV which is another brand. The living room TV no longer recognizes either of the two supplied Furrion remotes, whereas both remotes operate the bedroom TV, so the remotes are not apparently the problem. The one in the living room just does not accept the remote commands.The side buttons on theTV work as expected. Both TV's have been used sporadically for the last 2.2 years. Contacted Furrion and awaiting reply. Any ideas please?
__________________

__________________

Gus and Jeanette and the Hunter Dawg in
Jada's Hut (a 2017 Precept 35S) towing a
2016 Jeep Cherokee High Altitude Limited
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 08:36 AM   #2
RWK
Senior Member
 
RWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Orange
Posts: 107
Not what you are looking for I'm sure, but my Furrion TV's have been horrible. Bad sound and not the easiest to use as they are not smart TV's. We had enough 6 mos ago and bought a 40 inch LG smart TV and don't regret it one bit. I will replace all the TV's eventually.
__________________

__________________
Jayco Asante 31V
2012 Jeep Rubicon/SMI Stay-IN-Play DUO Braking/Roadmaster BlackHawk 2 All-Terrain tow bar
RWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 09:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
How hard was it to remove the old one from the Televator and install the new one on the bracket? Any instructions with the new TV for mounting that way?

Just removed the trash drawer to reach the wall socket, unplug and waited a while to plug in again to see if reset would work, but it doesnít.

No complaints until now and TV works otherwise great but only ďmanualĒ.

New Smart TVís of similar size fairly priced. Regrettably counter opening/Televator height wonít allow a much larger one as weíd like.
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 09:27 AM   #4
RWK
Senior Member
 
RWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Orange
Posts: 107
Mine is wall mounted on my Alante, no televator. But is has to use VESA standard mounting brackets which all modern TV companies adhere to. So you should find it compatible as long as you can find a similar sized TV. Now a days the TV exterior is smaller but the screen is bigger.

But someone with a televator will likely follow this thread and give you advice on this. I'm sure people on this forum have already changed their TV's out.
Good luck.
__________________
Jayco Asante 31V
2012 Jeep Rubicon/SMI Stay-IN-Play DUO Braking/Roadmaster BlackHawk 2 All-Terrain tow bar
RWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Way down here........FL
Posts: 1,858
Batteries??
__________________
Jack

2016 Pinnacle 36 KPTS
2016 F350 Lariat CC LB dually 6.7
jasum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
Iíve spent some time on the televator. By lowering it to half height the top can be removed. There are four torches screws that hold the bracket onto the televator. By loosening the screws the bracket will come out and everything can be disconnected. The bracket can then be attached to a new TV, while there may be a problem with the screw lengths which can be corrected. If I have to replace it, we are looking at the Samsung series N700 40 inch ultra high definition 4K smart TV. It is 36 inches wide. This is almost the width of the hole the television comes through. However I have seen that the solid countertop is mounted on a backing board and I may be able to remove about a half inch from each side which would allow the larger Samsung to fit. There is also an HD TCL smart for about $180, compared to the $336 of the Samsung. However, it is generation three and Iíd rather have something more current which TCL doesnít presently offer. Depending on whether the remote issue can be fixed or not, we would probably buy the Samsung during Prime days. Will keep you posted.
__________________

Gus and Jeanette and the Hunter Dawg in
Jada's Hut (a 2017 Precept 35S) towing a
2016 Jeep Cherokee High Altitude Limited
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,588
You can use a camera or your phone's camera to check the remotes. In camera mode, aim the remote at the camera lens and push a button on the remote. If the remote shows a light, it is working, no light, batteries dead or a bad remote. If your tv is not working from two different remotes, I suspect a problem with the tv. Try to find the remote sensor on the front of the tv and make sure it's not blocked by something.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel B&W Companion Hitch
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 01:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
Definitely not the remotes as both will work the 32Ē in the bedroom. Will try to see if can find remote sensor in front of the TV. Anyone know where it is on this unit? Something leads me to believe a replacement TV will cost less than the repair if I can find someplace that can repair it.
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:24 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Open Road
Posts: 29
Lower left corner for the remote sensor on the tv.
__________________
2019 Pinnacle 36fbts
2018 Ford F450
RichW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 05:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MikeThompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: On the Road
Posts: 165
We changed our Insignia to a Samsung. Much better all around. Also put a Bose soundbar on top of the televator. The screws for the mount to Samsung were different lengths than the Insignia, but easy to change. The mount was also in a different position on the Samsung, so I held it above the hole with some firring strips and remounted the tv mount to the lift mechanism. I did have to cut out about 1/2" of the subsurface plywood so the new one would fit.
__________________
2018 Precept 35S
MikeThompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 07:34 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Bullitt6283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 420
My Furrion 39" went berserk and I could no longer use it.. It would change channels, change volume, change inputs all by itself, and rapidly. The little LED light which shows remote control activity was constantly flashing. I removed the batteries from the remote and put a piece of electrical tape over the IR sensor, so definitely the television was doing this all by itself.
It turned out that the manual button control pad got contamination or condensation inside and was controlling the television all by itself. It cannot be taken apart for cleaning.

I disconnected the control pad and just use the remote now.

I replaced the television with a Jensen 40" which runs from 12 volts directly.

OP: I know this seems to be the inverse problem from yours, but perhaps a constant input from the control pad is overriding the remote...
__________________
Ron
Retired
2016 Greyhawk 29MV
2000 Jeep Sahara
Bullitt6283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 09:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
Talked to Furrion today, nice people. Seems like my ir sensor is not working and not worth repairing. Iím going to experiment tomorrow w/ an ota converter unit that should allow installing between the ota and the tv, manually turn on tv, set to channel 3-4, choose coax tv input and use the converter remote for sound and channels. Itís designed for digital to analog but may work. If not then probably a new smart 4K during Prime day. Iíve also been looking at external tuners that can do ota and cable for a similar installation as Iím planning above. Will keep you posted.
__________________

Gus and Jeanette and the Hunter Dawg in
Jada's Hut (a 2017 Precept 35S) towing a
2016 Jeep Cherokee High Altitude Limited
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 11:13 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
Took my converter box to the MH and, after connecting it in line and choosing TV manually from the side panel as the input, I could not set the TV to the required Ch 3 or 4 as required to receive the signal from the box. Strike one. I am going to revisit w/RCA cables to try and put audio in L&R and video in and choose component and see if that will work. Want to try every option before Prime Day coming up. Sit back and enjoy the popcorn!
__________________

Gus and Jeanette and the Hunter Dawg in
Jada's Hut (a 2017 Precept 35S) towing a
2016 Jeep Cherokee High Altitude Limited
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:22 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jensen Beach
Posts: 150
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3643.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	51503

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3644.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	51504

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3645.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	51505

Problem solved, remote on tuner works channels and volume. Connected via RCA cables. Any new purchases postponed.
__________________

__________________

Gus and Jeanette and the Hunter Dawg in
Jada's Hut (a 2017 Precept 35S) towing a
2016 Jeep Cherokee High Altitude Limited
Palms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×