Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
Stupid LED lights question

I hope I ask this correctly. I am thinking of buying a strip of LED lights. It is 16 feet long. They sell them with and without a transformer. The transformer plugs into an regular 110 outlet. Some come with remotes as well. They also sell just the light strip with no transformer. I believe LED lights are made to run on 12 volts. Correct me if I am wrong. The lights in our RV's also run off of 12 volts. Do those same RV lights run off of 12 volts when connected to shore power? Basically, what I am wondering is if I can simply tap into one of the RV lights to supply power to the LED light strip and if so, will being connected to shore power cause any problems? This would eliminate the need for a transformer, and also free up an outlet for other things.
__________________

__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Dwilcox353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East of Seattle in the Cascade foot hills.
Posts: 55
Check the output rating on the transformer. If it is 12Volts DC then it will work.
__________________

__________________
Dale, Karen, 2 Boys and the Girl
2007 Jay Feather 30U Some Mods
2006 F250 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke Diesel with mods
Dwilcox353 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwilcox353 View Post
Check the output rating on the transformer. If it is 12Volts DC then it will work.
are you saying that if the transformer is a 12Volts DC, then I would not require it? I could simply tap into a wire running to a light?
__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 748
What you want to do sounds okay but first I would find out from the manufacturer what voltage is needed to power the light strip. ... and as posted above, it should be stated on the transformer.

The next issue would be to determine if you want them to operate from an existing switch, or add a switch somewhere for the light strip only (easy to do). It could be an inline switch that doesn't have to be wall mounted.

If you include the light strip into a circuit that already controls lights (or something else), then those lights or whatever is in the circuit will be powered on when you turn the switch on. For example, If you tie into the circuit that controls your outside light(s), the light strip will receive power whenever you turn your outside light on.
OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Dwilcox353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East of Seattle in the Cascade foot hills.
Posts: 55
What he said .
Our trailers have 2 electrical systems in them a 110V that will be energized when plugged into shore power. The 12V runs off the battery when dry camping (no shore power) or off the converter when plugged into shore power that converts 110V AC to 12V DC and charges the battery.
And you can get an Inverter if you want 110V available from the Battery when dry camping but that is a whole different deal.
__________________
Dale, Karen, 2 Boys and the Girl
2007 Jay Feather 30U Some Mods
2006 F250 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke Diesel with mods
Dwilcox353 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,261
LEDs are low draw on amps/current and would think they should be OK. Like the above said, verify the output rating of the transformer just to make sure. If anything you may trip the breaker/fuse if its too much for the circuit to handle.
__________________

exjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.