Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-12-2022, 03:13 PM   #1

Jensen radio

Hi Jayco friends
I'm a newbie full time in my 2015 Greyhawk recently my radio/camera quit working and now going to order new radio to have installed just wondering if I should order same radio or is there one that has the new updates to the maps that will be compatible?

Thank you
Gina714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 11:12 AM   #2

Gina - your best bet might be to just find a Best Buy or other automotive stereo installer near by and talk to them. When I looked, I didn't see anything in my budget that had everything I wanted.

For example - I disconnected the side cameras and only use the rear one.

Or, start here and get an idea of what's out there:
https://www.etrailer.com/RV-Stereos/...BoCho0QAvD_BwE

The size of the unit is called "Double DIN" I think. You could google up some possibilities. But be aware that the wiring harness could be (mostly likely will be) different and need someone that knows how to wire up a new stereo to an existing installation.

Mine is the Jensen JRV215N.
Old 09-13-2022, 12:22 PM   #3

My Jensen went dark a couple of years ago. I replaced it with another Jensen (JRV9000) just for ease of installation. There is much better units out there but I didn't look around enough before my purchase. I still had to rewire the main plug from the 215. Nowadays I would definitely buy a unit with Android Auto to replace the crappy navigation of the Jensen.
Old 09-13-2022, 12:34 PM   #4

Do not buy Jenson for navigation. Mine will just not be accessible. Press the Navigation button and nothing happens. Then a few weeks later it works. I use my portable Garmin for GPS. Much better and I can place it so I can see it.
Old 09-13-2022, 02:46 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by 201822j View Post