Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2017, 09:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milpitas
Posts: 386
120 volts out. GFCI won't reset (camping now)

Wow, on our way home and in a campground. Our 120 is out. There is power to the outside of the TT. EMS reports everything good. Circuit breakers are all "on," nothing tripped. But the GFCI will not reset, nor will any other 120 outlet work. We have pulled all plugs out of the interior of the TT except the the refrigerator which is now running on propane. The blue light on the outside of the TT where the plugs connects is lit. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
2103 Chevy Express Van 1500 with 2500 rear end
2017 Jayco 23MRB: 26' total and Glacier Package
Married 43 years. Aki the "mutt," 11 years old "Excited to learn new things everyday and humbled by those who offer to help."
travelingjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 10:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelingjw View Post
Wow, on our way home and in a campground. Our 120 is out. There is power to the outside of the TT. EMS reports everything good. Circuit breakers are all "on," nothing tripped. But the GFCI will not reset, nor will any other 120 outlet work. We have pulled all plugs out of the interior of the TT except the the refrigerator which is now running on propane. The blue light on the outside of the TT where the plugs connects is lit. Any ideas?
GFCI do go bad, that may be the issue. Or, you could have an issue inside the RV which your EMS would not sense. Loose wire, open ground etc.

I would open the outlet where the GFCI is at, (if your comfortable working with electric) and see if there is a loose wire there, then follow down the chain and check each outlet.

Good Luck
__________________

__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 10:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milpitas
Posts: 386
Hi, thanks. I did pull the panel to see if there was an open ground, none. All 120 power is out, including non-GFCI circuits. I wonder if the TT main recepticle could have a loose wire.
__________________
2103 Chevy Express Van 1500 with 2500 rear end
2017 Jayco 23MRB: 26' total and Glacier Package
Married 43 years. Aki the "mutt," 11 years old "Excited to learn new things everyday and humbled by those who offer to help."
travelingjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 12:14 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelingjw View Post
Hi, thanks. I did pull the panel to see if there was an open ground, none. All 120 power is out, including non-GFCI circuits. I wonder if the TT main recepticle could have a loose wire.
Did you check to see if you had power coming to the panel ? If not, I would check your EMS. Is it hard wired or portable? Just keep following backwards to see where you do have power. May want to check at the pedestal for power.. than after your EMS to see if you still have power etc.

Electricity is logical...once you know where you do and don't have power you can than see what the issue is at that point.

Good Luck.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 06:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Hillsborough County
Posts: 31
I've had bad connections where wires are tied together with plastic twist-on (wire-nut) connectors. They usually look good, but if you pull on each wire separately, you may find one that is loose. Do this with the main power cord unplugged.
retiredtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 09:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
If you have not already done so, flip the main breaker inside your trailer all the way off, then all the way on. Sometimes they are tripped but do not look like it.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 03:42 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,944
For one, this is not a problem with you gfi outlet since none of your outlets have power. The only place that everything would be affected is in the main converter/breaker box or down stream toward the power post. I would be reluctant to open up the box as I really don't like to mess with electricity. Hopefully you have a multi meter. Unplug your power cord from the EMS and see if there is power at the outlet on the EMS. Another approach would be to remove the EMS if it is a portable and plug directly into the power post. If that gets you power then you have a problem with the EMS. If not something could have vibrated loose [very unlikely and very dangerous if it did] between the power cord in and the main box. Someone on here might be able to tell you how to see if you have power coming into the box at the point where the power cord leads are connected.

In any regard the problem could be simple or complicated. No way to know other than to isolate where you have power in but nothing out.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 04:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 32
in most TT's i've owned, the power goes to the GFI outlet first and then runs to all the rest of the outlets in the TT. check to see if the microwave works, as its about the only thing in the TT that seems to have its own breaker. If the lights work and the fridge has 12v the converter should be powered. I also vote on either a faulty GFI outlet or a problem with the wiring past the gfi outlet. try disconnecting the outlet and temporarily connecting the blacks together and the whites together and seeing if that makes a difference
kiknads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 04:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Woodworker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,748
Wouldn't the fan for the converter had come on multiple times since this post started if it had power? Mine has always run quit a bit in all my campers

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
Tight Lines and accurate shots
Woodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 10:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milpitas
Posts: 386
Thanks. This morning I did check to see if there was power to the panel and there is. My suspicion at this point is the main breaker may be bad. There was power below every breaker, but the main one only had 120 on one leg. I will pull it tomorrow and check with a VOM.
__________________

__________________
2103 Chevy Express Van 1500 with 2500 rear end
2017 Jayco 23MRB: 26' total and Glacier Package
Married 43 years. Aki the "mutt," 11 years old "Excited to learn new things everyday and humbled by those who offer to help."
travelingjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
120 volts, gfci

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.