Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-18-2018, 07:17 PM   #1

Honda Generator or something else...

Hi All. I am new to RVing. I just bought a new SL209 toyhauler. I got the upgraded A/C(15,000 btu). I am in the market for a generator as I wil be boondocking more often than not. I was thinking of getting a single 3400 watt unit, Honda, Yamaha or Champion. Or possibly 2 -2200 watt units. I see the Champion dual unit will only put out 3000 watts when connected. I don't think that will start the A/C. Will the dual Honda 2200 units give me enough power to start the A/C? Should I buy the single 3400 watt Honda?

Thanks!
mattf301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 08:15 PM   #2

Based on what I've read dual Honda 2200's should start and run a 15K A/C no problem. I've even read that if you hook-up a Micro-soft board you can start/run it with a single 2200.

That said if I was looking to do the same thing I would prefer two 2200's over a larger 3400 unit simply based on weight. I can lift a 2200 by myself but there is no way I'm lifting any 3400 unit without help.

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 09:22 PM   #3

Hi to you. Congratulations on the Octane and welcome to the forum.
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 09:37 PM   #4