Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2013, 08:17 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by lx22f/c View Post
Thanks Doug i feel better leaving it on a 30 amp plug. Just wanting to get it right and not endanger my family.
Thanks again for all replies. This forum is great!!!
If you're going to run an additional outlet from the 2nd 20 amp breaker, use a 20 amp rated outlet if it's a single recepticle.
A 20 amp outlet will receive a 15 amp plug or a 20amp plug.
If you never plan on running any single 20 amp load, then the 15 amp duplex recepticle would be fine.
You can run a 15amp duplex recepticle on a 20 amp circuit. The 15 amp duplex recepticles are able to pass 20 amps between the combined load of the 2 outlets.

Most space heaters are 1500 watts, which canl run on a 15 amp circuit.
JMHO,

Doug
__________________

__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:12 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
What lx22f/c described in post #12 is a good plan. I wouldn't hesitate to use it at all.

Wire size affects voltage drop especially if the system supply voltage is low. Starting currents matter too.

vic
__________________

VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:22 PM   #23
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicS1950 View Post
What lx22f/c described in post #12 is a good plan. I wouldn't hesitate to use it at all.

Wire size affects voltage drop especially if the system supply voltage is low. Starting currents matter too.

vic
Yep,
Agree Vic.
Just a minor input on the 20 amp outlet.

Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:09 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
I've noticed none of the discussion here brought out to be sure your replacement 12-GAUGE ROMEX has the copper ground wire included with it. It is probably a given that the ROMEX will come with the copper ground wire included but I have seen some 12-2 ROMEX without it.

You will need to run the ground wire all the way back to the distribution panel ground BUSSBAR connection.

My house is wired throughout using 12-gauge ROMEX (12-3) but all of my zone receptacles are the 15-AMP version. My circuit breakers for the 120VAC receptacle zones are 20AMP size. After noticing this I added a couple of 20AMP 120VAC receptacles that were close to the distribution panel in the garage area to support my 30AMP 120VAC Extension Cord hookups I use on my two parked 5th wheel and off-road POPUP trailers. The 20AMP version receptacles have a better current rating contacts. I actually ended up with two zones in the garage that are on separate 20AMP circuit breakers. I think the previous owner had one installed for a 120VAC Air Compressor setup.

One of these days I want to run a standard RV30AMP connection to the outside garage wall.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:23 AM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote: You will need to run the ground wire all the way back to the distribution panel ground BUSSBAR connection.

Roy, why does he have to do this? Won't he pick up the ground for his sub breaker box through the ground in the cord?

Just wondering. Yes, I assumed 12-2 with ground.

Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:15 AM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
If you're going to run an additional outlet from the 2nd 20 amp breaker, use a 20 amp rated outlet if it's a single recepticle.
A 20 amp outlet will receive a 15 amp plug or a 20amp plug.
If you never plan on running any single 20 amp load, then the 15 amp duplex recepticle would be fine.
You can run a 15amp duplex recepticle on a 20 amp circuit. The 15 amp duplex recepticles are able to pass 20 amps between the combined load of the 2 outlets.

Most space heaters are 1500 watts, which canl run on a 15 amp circuit.
JMHO,

Doug
I edited this post to clarify the 20amp rated recepticle recommendation.

Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
lx22f/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Friendswood
Posts: 917
12 gauge romex

The romex is now run!!! It is 12 gauge with a copper ground. Putting all the shelves in now.
Took a little while to fish it though all the beams and insulation but done for now.
After the first of the year i will mount a new breaker box and connect it to pedestal via a 30 amp cord, then connecting the romex from breaker to the new a/c unit.
Thanks again for all the help!
Robert
lx22f/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:25 PM   #28
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Looking like progress :-)
That's the hard part.

Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:46 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
DOUG - I was just assuming you would probably start your 12-GAUGE (12-2 w/ground) at the AC Power Distribution panel using a dedicated 20AMP CIrcuit Breaker then hook all three wires up inside the AX Distribution Panel..

It will be pretty hard to daisy chain romex in most RV installs as they typically use the flat low profile RV pinch type receptacles which are probably already been placed in a daisy chain layout.

Doesn't matter where the ground wire is attached as long as it originates from the GROUND BUS BAR at the 120VAC distribution panel.

The point was NOT to run just the HOT and NEUTRAL ROMEX wires.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:40 PM   #30
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyBraddy View Post
DOUG - I was just assuming you would probably start your 12-GAUGE (12-2 w/ground) at the AC Power Distribution panel using a dedicated 20AMP CIrcuit Breaker then hook all three wires up inside the AX Distribution Panel..

It will be pretty hard to daisy chain romex in most RV installs as they typically use the flat low profile RV pinch type receptacles which are probably already been placed in a daisy chain layout.

Doesn't matter where the ground wire is attached as long as it originates from the GROUND BUS BAR at the 120VAC distribution panel.

The point was NOT to run just the HOT and NEUTRAL ROMEX wires.

Roy Ken
Thanks Roy,
I may be confused.
I thought he was running a completely separate breaker box and feeding that box with a 30amp power cable that would go to the pedestal.
I thought the ground would just go to the ground bus in his new box.

Doug
__________________

__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.