Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-17-2020, 12:07 PM   #1

Anyone use Andersen Weight Distribution Hitch?

Hey all,

Anyone here using the Andersen WDH? I've been using it for a few months now and have noticed that every couple trips the brackets on the tongue shift forward, and i have to loosen them and reset them. They tend to keep moving forward incrementally as I tow, and then eventually there will be too many threads coming out of the back of the brackets and then I can't use the socket to tighten anymore, resulting in me needing to reset both brackets on the fly.
Anyone else have this issue? I installed the hitch as per the manual (90-100lb of torque for the bracket nuts/bolts) but I always have this issue.
xizowudao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 12:19 PM   #2

I have had mine for 3 years, never had this issue. Are the set screws tightened down? I've heard of some people drilling holes for the set screws, that should solve your issue. I remember at least one person who welded.
MontanaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 12:21 PM   #3

Yeah I actually extra tightened the set screws last time but it still happened, and it actually resulted in a bit of frame crushing . maybe i'll look into drilling a hole for the set screw! thx
Old 08-17-2020, 12:26 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontanaRick View Post
I have had mine for 3 years, never had this issue. Are the set screws tightened down? I've heard of some people drilling holes for the set screws, that should solve your issue. I remember at least one person who welded.
X2. Also had ours for almost three years and no slippage. I had my dealer check the torque on the bracket bolts about a year ago. They were still tight. If you don’t think you’ll want to put them on another TT someday, a small spot weld on each would work, as Rick said.